Nijmegen (G): St.
The St. Steven is built in a mix of
late Romanesque and both early and late Gothic
styles, while the spire on top of the tower is in Renaissance
style. St. Steven ('St. Stephen') is the original catholic name
of this church; after the church became a protestant one its
official name became Grote Kerk ('Great Church'), but usually
the name St. Steven is used.
The first church at this location was built between 1254 and
1273. This was a Romanesque basilican church of which parts of
the west facade and tower are recognizable in the current Gothic
church. The church was gradually rebuilt in Gothic style, with
a new choir added between 1343 and 1361 and wider side-aisles
added ca. 1400. A new rebuild was started in ca. 1420 using plans
by Gisbert Schairt van Bommel, but never completed. Starting
at the east side and gradually moving towards the west the current
choir with ambulatory and radiating chapels was added, followed
by a three-aisled transept in the 16th century. From this period
also dates the porch at the south, an example of Flamboyant Gothicism,
although damaged and restored several times. For both the choir
and transept clerestories were planned but not completed.
In World War Two much of the church was destroyed. The church
was extensively restored from 1948 until 1969 under supervision
of architect B. van Bilderbeek. Several parts were reconstructed,
something which is especially visible at the tower which looks
much too young for its age.