Kerk Avezaath (G)
: Reformed church
The Reformed church of Kerk
Avezaath is a one-aisled building with a built-in tower of two
segments and a choir that is slightly narrower than the nave
with a three-sided closure. The tuff lower part of the tower
dates from the 14th century, while the upper part probably dates
from c. 1640. On top of the tower is a constricted spire. The
lower segment of the tower is supported by two massive buttresses.
The original Romanesque church was replaced in 1861 by the current
neo-Gothic one, designed by J. van der Toom, with a porch on
the north side.
The late-Gothic choir dates from c. 1500, and is decorated with
layers of tuff.
Most of the church is covered by a layer of white plaster, typical
for protestant churches. Despite the fact that the church has
been used by the protestants for four centuries now, and most
of the building was replaced since, it is still referred to by
its former catholic name of St. Lambertus.
In 1999 the church was handed to a foundation for the preservation
of old churches in Gelderland, Stichting Oude Gelderse Kerken (website in
Dutch, opens in new window).