Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Click here to go to the main page

Haalderen (G): O.L. Vrouw van Zeven Smarten (H.W. Valk, 1931-1933)

 The first church of Haalderen was built in ca. 1400. After the Reformation this church was destroyed and not rebuilt. When freedom of religion returned at the end of the 18th century, Haalderen, which had always remained mostly catholic, became part of the parish of Bemmel. In the early 1930's however the village finally became a parish again. A new church was built, designed by H.W. Valk, a three-aisled cruciform basilica in Valk's usual Traditionalistic style, with narrow side-aisles and a wide central aisle, long transept-arms and a heightened crossing to illuminate the choir section.  Hand-made bricks from the local factory were used, many of these were made by the workers of the local brick factory in their free time.
In 1944 the church was badly damaged, when German troops blew up the tower. After the war H. Valk Jr., one of the architect's sons, restored the church. The tower was not rebuilt; in 1958 a new one was built, designed by Joh. H. Sluijmer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Churches in the province of Gelderland

Back to the Province of Gelderland Places & buildings

Back to H.W. Valk

Website statistieken gratis, LetsStat X1