Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Click here to go to the main page
Arnhem (G)
 
Arnhem is the capital of Gelderland. Although badly damaged during the fighting of September 1944, its old churches survived, although usually in a bad state. Part of the city are several former villages, including Elden.
 

 

 

 

Arnhem's skyline is dominated by the tower of the St. Eusebius, a former catholic church that since the Reformation had been in protestant hands but has been used mostly for cultural purposes in recent decades. This tower is one of the highest in the country. Until 1944, when it was heavily damaged, it had a very different look. After the war it was restored to its current shape; much higher, with a tall upper segment designed in what could be called a new interpretation of the Gothic style.

Location: Kerkplein 1

 

 

 
 The major Catholic church is the St. Walburgis, a Gothic church with two towers at the front, which is quite rare in this country. The church was finished in ca. 1350 and was used by a chapter that had previously resided in Tiel. After the Reformation it served as a prison and in 1808 it returned in catholic hands, now as a parish church, a purpose which demanded the addition of a choir.

Location: St. Walburgisplein 1



 

 

 

During the Reformation the new protestant authorities gave this former chapel of a convent to protestant refugees from Wallonia and France to use as a church. The rest of the monastery has long gone, but the Walloon church is still there. During the war its facade was heavily damaged and rebuilt later in a Traditionalist style, inspired by Gothicism.

Location: St. Catharinaplaats 1

 

 

 

 

The Koepelkerk ('dome church') is an octagonal centralized church in neo-Classical style. It was built in 1837-1838 after a design by architect A. Aytink van Falkenstein, inspired by the Lutheran dome-church in Amsterdam. Originally a reformed church it was until 1940 also used as the regimental church of the mobile artillery regiment. In 1961 the building became property of a different protestant denomination.

Location: Jansplein 60

 

 

 

 

The second Roman Catholic church in the centre is the St. Martinus, a neo-Gothic church from 1874-1876 designed by A. Tepe. Although the church is typical for Tepe's style, it is special for its traceries of natural stone, a material this architect rarely used.

Location: Steenstraat 7


 

 

 

 

The St. Jan de Doper is one of A. Tepe's later works, dating from 1894-1895. It's a three-aisled hall-church with a tower at the south side.

Location: Verlengde Hoflaan 74


 

 

The neo-Gothic chapel of St. Elisabeth's hospital was built in the 1890's after a design by W.G. Welsing. It was part of a complex that was otherwise designed by J.W. Boerbooms.

Location: Utrechtseweg 196
 

 

 

 

 

The Lutheran church is a rare example of a protestant church in late neo-Gothic style. It dates from 1897-1898 and was designed by A.R. Freem.

Location: Spoorwegstraat 10

 

 

 

 

 

The catholic H. Maria Onbevlekt Ontvangen was built in 1910-1911 in a combination of neo-Romanesque and neo-Gothic styles and was designed by W.G. Welsing. After having been closed in 1995 it was rebuilt into apartments.

Location: Van Slichtenhortststraat 36

 

 

 
 

The H. Hart van Jezus was built in 1927-1928 and was designed by W. te Riele, who combined a neo-Gothic style with more modern and unconventional ideas, like the tower on top of the choir.

Location: Bakenbergseweg 72


 

 

The St. Jozef was built in 1928-1929 and was designed by H.C.M. van Beers. It was built in Expressionistic style withneo-Gothic influences. It was recently rebuilt into apartments.

Location: Rosendaalseweg 700


 

 

The reformed Paasbergkerk dates from 1932 and was built in a moderate Expressionist style. Recently it was rebuilt into apartments.

Location: Da Costastraat 5


 

 

The Old-Catholic H. Willibrordus dates from 1941-1945, its construction was obviously stalled by the war, and was designed in a Traditionalistic style by G. Feenstra.

Location: Adolf van Nieuwenaarlaan 3


 

 

Not to be confused with the Old-Catholic church with the similar name is the catholic St. Willibrordus, which was built in 1953-1954 in a Traditionalistic style inspired by early-christian basilica. The architect was J.H. Sluijmer.

Location: Oude Velperweg 56

 

 

 

Part of Arnhem is the former village of Elden, which has a reformed church of its own. Although only its late-medieval tower dates from before the Reformation, the church is also known by the catholic name of its predecessor, Bonifatiuskerk. The actual church in its current state dates from 1866.

Location: Huissensedijk 10, Elden

 
Back to the Province of Gelderland

Website statistieken gratis, LetsStat X1